Posted by : Monkey SKA lunes, 4 de abril de 2016

Keith Hudson - Tuff Gong Encounter

Languishing in the vaults for over thirty years, here are the six tracks that the legendary Keith Hudson recorded at Tuff Gong with the Wailers rhythm section Carlton and Family Man Barrett on drums and bass respectively.  These tracks were intended for an album that never came as Hudson succumbed to cancer and passed away in November 1984.  The Barrett brothers were augmented by fellow Wailers Junior Marvin on guitar and Tyrone Downie on keys.  The tracks were engineered at Tuff Gong at the time by Oswald Palmer and have been sympathetically mixed prior to this release by King Jammy, who has also mixed dubwise variations for each track.  Its a fascinating album, the Wailers sound is intact and evocative and Hudson's songs are full of typically incisive lyrical couplets, his unique voice emerging from the years in obscurity with vivid life.  The story is told in the detailed booklet notes by one Vincent Ellis.  A fitting and deserved epitaph for the great Keith Hudson.

Track Listing:

1. I Know My Rights
2. White Africa
3. Run Run Run
4. Rebel Rasta
5. Starlight
6. I Know My Rights (Version 2)
7. Rites Of Dub
8. Dub Africa
9. Run The Version
10. Rasta Dub
11. Star Dub
12. Rites Of Version


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Posts | Subscribe to Comments

Free Ska Foundation Podcast

Subscribe - By E-mail





Lo más popular

Con la tecnología de Blogger.